The RFMRC-SEA will serve the regional member states already established under the ASEAN structure.  The proposed ASEAN Co-ordinating Center for Transboundary Haze Pollution Control (ACC) will pursue a similar mission to the RFMC-SEA but will operate at a different level and focus on several important areas outside the foreseeable effective scope of the ASEAN Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution. States to be considered as being proactive in addressing fire management and related challenges include:

  1. Brunei Darussalam
  2. Kingdom of Cambodia
  3. Republic of Indonesia
  4. Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  5. Malaysia
  6. Union of Myanmar
  7. Republic of the Philippines
  8. Republic of Singapore
  9. Kingdom of Thailand
  10. Socialist Republic of Vietnam
  11. Timor Leste

The initial establishment and scope of activities of RFMRC-SEA will be focused on Indonesia. The partners and cooperative network of the RFMRC-SEA have been voluntarily established and include:

Indonesian Coordinating Ministry for Economic Affairs

Indonesian Ministry of Environment and Forestry (MoEF)

Peatland Restoration Agency (BRG)

Indonesian Ministry of Agriculture (MoA)

Indonesian National Institute of Aeronautics and Space (LAPAN)

Indonesian Agency for Meteorology, Climatology, and Geophysics (BMKG)

Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK)

National Board for Disaster Management (BNPB)

Indonesian Production Forest Management Unit (KPHP), MoEF

Indonesian Protection Forest Management Unit (KPHL), MoEF

Indonesian Special Crimes Unit, (National Police Headquarters)

Faculty of Forestry, Bogor Agriculture University (IPB – West Java)

Faculty of Forestry, University of Palangkaraya (UP – Central Kalimantan)

Faculty of Forestry, Universitas Papua (UNIPA – Papua Barat)

Center for Disaster Management University of Riau (UNRI – Riau)

Faculty of Forestry, University of Jambi (UNJA – Jambi)

Faculty of Agriculture, University of Sriwijaya (Palembang)

The Indonesian Conservation Community WARSI (Jambi)

Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation (BOSF) (West Java)

Wetland International Indonesia (Bogor – Indonesia)

German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ)

Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)

PT Wana Subur Lestari/HTI

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)

Departement of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Montana (Missoula – Amerika Serikat)

Chiang Mai University (Thailand)

University of Maryland Center For Environmental Science (UMCES) (Cambridge – USA)

Monash University (Australia)